Skip to main content
abstract blue background

About ComSoc

Plaque, certificate, and honorarium of US$1000.

The award shall be open to individuals at any level who were industry employees at the time of the accomplishments being recognized.   Candidate need not be an IEEE member.

Basis for Judging
Major industrial accomplishments, standards, deployment of important processes or products, etc, that are of substantial benefit to the public in the field of communications and information technologies and visible beyond the company or institution where the contribution was made.

Nominations will be solicited each year, up to the nominations deadline decided by the Awards Committee.

Administration and Funding
The IEEE Communications Society will administer the award.  Funding will be covered by the annual Communications Society operating budget unless a suitable endowment is established.

Annually (as soon as possible after recommendation). No more than three awards may be made in any calendar year.  The award will not be conferred in any given year if suitable candidates are not identified.  The award will be presented at a major Communication Society annual conference or venue appropriate to the business area of the recipient.

Nominations due 1 September unless otherwise noted.


2023 Award Recipient

No Award



2022 - No Award
2021 - No Award
2020 - No Award
2019 - Carlos Pignataro
2018 - No Award
2017 - Thomas L. Marzetta
2016 - Thierry Klein

2015 - Chih-Lin I
2014 - Wen Tong
2013 - Rajiv Laroia
2012 - Stephen Alexander
2011 - Lawrence Bernstein
2010 - No Award
2009 - David Belanger