Skip to main content
background image


IEEE Fellows Elevated as of 1 January 1996

Election to the grade of IEEE Fellow is one of the highest honors that can be bestowed upon our members by the Institute in recognition of their technical, educational, and leadership achievements. Only a select few IEEE members earn this prestigious honor.

Congratulations to the following Communications Society members for their election to the grade of Fellow of the IEEE. They now join company with a truly distinguished roster of colleagues.

Hamid Ahmadi
For critical contributions to high speed ATM networking technology and to wireless networking.

Ian F. Akyildiz
For contributions to performance analysis of computer communication networks.

Haruo Akimaru
For contributions to switching and signaling systems, and the optimum design applying teletraffic theory.

Aubrey M. Bush
For contributions in communications theory and engineering education, and for the promotion of fundamental and applied research in communications.

Vito Cappellini
For leadership in digital filtering and image processing.

Francis Yuk Lun Chin
For contribution to developments in parallel and distributed computing and to computer science education.

John M. Cioffi
For contributions to the theory, practice, and promotion of advanced communication methods in data transmission and storage.

Robert B. Cooper
For fundamental contributions to queuing theory and its applications in teletraffic and computer engineering.

Prof. Vladimir Cuperman
For contributions to the application of vector quantization to speech coding.

Eric Dubois
For contributions to the multidimensional signal processing and coding of video signals.

Thomas C. Ely
For innovation in architecting and implementing service creation capabilities for the advanced intelligent network.

Changxin Fan
For contributions to and leadership in the area of communication engineering education and research.

Thomas R. Fischer
For contributions to the theory and practice of data compression, including trellis coded quantization and pyramid vector quantization.

Peter M. Grant
For contributions to surface acoustic wave processing and leadership in signal processing research.

Ali Habibi
For contribution to development of theory, techniques, and application of video and image bandwidth compression.

Botaro Hirosaki
For contributions to the development of high-speed digital communications technologies and systems.

Joseph Y. Hui
For contributions to switching and traffic engineering of multimedia broadband communication networks, and multiaccess wireless networks.

Yoshihiro Iwadare
For contributions to information and coding theory, especially for the construction of a class of burst-error correcting convolutional codes.

Randy Howard Katz
For contributions to computer system design, engineering education, and government service.

Allen H. Levesque
For contributions to the development of strategic defense communications networks and for applications of error-control coding to radio communications.

Petros Maragos
For contributions to the theory and application of nonlinear signal processing systems.

Osama Abdel-Wahab Mohammed
For contributions to three-dimensional electromagnetic field computation and for the development of intelligent systems techniques for the optimal design of electromagnetic devices and systems.

Tetsuo Nishi
For contributions to linear and nonlinear circuit theory.

Kaveh Pahlavan
For contributions to data communication with particular emphasis on wireless office information networks.

Bing J. Sheu
For contributions to signal processing and neural network systems using VLSI processors.

Naohisa Shimomura
For contributions and leadership in the development of Japanese language information processing technologies.

Nelson R. Sollenberger
For pioneering contributions to TDMA-based personal communication system technology and standardization enabling a new generation of wireless telecommunications services.

Daniel C. Stanzione
For leadership in applying advanced software technology in systems that have enhanced the performance and reliability of public telecommunications networks.

Raymond Steele
For fundamental contributions to digital wireless communications, including principles of microcell operation and multilevel modulation.

Hideaki Takagi
For contributions to the performance analysis of communication networks and queueing systems.

Ahmed Hossam Tewfik
For contributions to wavelet theory and fractal signal processing and their applications.

Murali R. Varanasi
For contributions to coding for computer fault tolerance and leadership in computer science and engineering education.

Stephen M. Walters
For leadership in the commercialization of asynchronous transfer mode networking technology, including ATM standards, specifications, and services.

Alfred C. Weaver
For contributions to the design of computer communications protocols.

Che-Ho Wei
For contributions to circuits and systems for communications and signal processing.

Jack H. Winters
For contributions to the theory and practice of adaptive signal processing for digital communication systems.

Douglas N. Zuckerman
For leadership in the development of network operations and management in industry.