Skip to main content
background image


IEEE Fellows Elevated as of 1 January 2017

Election to the grade of IEEE Fellow is one of the highest honors that can be bestowed upon our members by the Institute in recognition of their technical, educational, and leadership achievements. Only a select few IEEE members earn this prestigious honor.

Congratulations to the following Communications Society members for their election to the grade of Fellow of the IEEE. They now join company with a truly distinguished roster of colleagues.

Raviraj Adve
for development of signal processing techniques for airborne radar

N. Asokan
for contributions to system security and privacy

R. Michael Buehrer
for contributions to wideband signal processing in communications and geolocation

Yan Chen
for contributions to design, measurement, and security of networking systems 

Israel Cidon
for contributions to high-speed packet networks, network-on-chip and wide area file systems

Christopher R Cole
for contributions to 10G, 40G, and 100G Optical Ethernet and OTN interfaces

Huaiyu Dai
for contributions to MIMO communications and wireless security

Jing Deng
for development and optimization of wireless security and networking protocols

Danny Dolev
for development of consistent, robust, and efficient distributed computing and storage

Falko Dressler
for contributions to adaptive and self-organizing communication protocols in sensor and vehicular networks

Eylem Ekici
for contributions to algorithms, protocols, and architectures of multi-hop wireless networks

Pablo Estevez
for contributions to feature selection and visualization of large data sets  

Michael Gastpar
for contributions to network information theory

Stephen Hanly
for contributions to capacity analysis and optimization of wireless communication networks

Hossam Hassanein
for contributions to protocols, architectures and analysis of multihop wireless networks

Michael Isnardi
for contributions to compliance testing and vision-based video compression technologies

Yucheun Jou
for leadership in digital cellular systems and smart mobile devices

Amir Khandani
for contributions to resource allocation and interference management in network information theory

Witold Krzymien
for contributions to radio resource management for cellular systems and networks

Qilian Liang
for contributions to interval type-2 fuzzy logic systems

Teng Joon Lim
for contributions to statistical signal processing in wireless communications

Phone Lin
for contributions to resource management and service development for mobile networks

Xiaodong Lin
for contributions in secure and privacy-preserving vehicular communications

Xiaojun Lin
for contributions to scheduling and control of wireless networks

Jiangchuan Liu  
for contributions to multimedia communications and content distribution over the Internet

Xiang Liu 
for contributions to broadband optical fiber communication systems and networks

Yong Liu
for contributions to multimedia networking

Joseph Bryan Lyles
for contributions in local network technology, Internet measurement, and research cyberinfrastructure

Arumugam Nallanathan
for contributions to cooperative communications and cognitive radio networks

Shu Namiki     
for contributions to optical amplification

Panos Nasiopoulos
for leadership in DVD authoring and digital multimedia technologies

Borivoje Nikolic
for contributions to energy-efficient design of digital and mixed-signal circuits

Dusit Niyato
for contributions to resource allocation in cognitive radio and cellular wireless networks

Jung-min Park
for contributions to dynamic spectrum sharing, cognitive radio networks, and security issues

Lili Qiu
for contributions to wireless network management

Reza Rejaie
for contributions to multimedia and peer-to-peer networking, and Internet measurement

Michael Rice
for contributions to communication waveforms, detection algorithms, and channel models for aeronautical telemetry

Seb Savory 
for contributions to digital coherent transceivers for optical fiber communication

Behzad Shahraray
for leadership in content-based processing and retrieval of multimedia information

Hamid Sharif
for development of railroad wireless communication

Prasun Sinha
for contributions to scheduling and resource allocation in wireless networks

Fredrik Tufvesson
for contributions to measurement and modeling of wireless propagation channels

Jaap Vandebeek
for contributions to orthogonal frequency division multiplexing

Cheng-xiang Wang
for contributions to wireless channel modeling for vehicular networks

Chonggang Wang 
for contributions to Internet of Things enabling technologies

Jiangzhou Wang
for contributions to multiple access and resource allocation in wireless mobile communications

Wenye Wang
for contributions to modeling and performance evaluation of wireless networks

Xianbin Wang
for contributions to OFDM systems and distributed transmission technologies

Halim Yanikomeroglu
for contributions to wireless access architectures in cellular networks

Rui Zhang
for contributions to cognitive radio and energy harvesting communications

Ce Zhu
for contributions to video coding and communications