Skip to main content
background image


IEEE Fellows Elevated as of 1 January 1978

Election to the grade of IEEE Fellow is one of the highest honors that can be bestowed upon our members by the Institute in recognition of their technical, educational, and leadership achievements. Only a select few IEEE members earn this prestigious honor.

Congratulations to the following Communications Society members for their election to the grade of Fellow of the IEEE. They now join company with a truly distinguished roster of colleagues.

Morio Akiyama 
For contribution to the analysis of variable parametric networks and applications of the method to power engineering and electrodynamics.

Thomas Curry
For the development of remotely controlled electronic reconnaissance systems.

Howard Frank
For contributions to large-scale network design and analysis.

John O. Limb
For contributions to efficient coding of color and monochrome video signals.

James L. Melsa
For educational leadership in the information and control sciences.

George S. Moschytz
For contributions to the theory and the development of hybrid-integrated linear communications networks.

Uziah Galil
For the pioneering contribution to the establishment of a modern electronic industry in Israel.

Fred Haber
For contribution to electro-magnetic compatibility measurement techniques.

Hiroshi Inose
For contributions to the development of digital switching, digital modulation and road traffic control systems.

Marvin K. Simon
For analytical contributions to communications system design.

Merlin G. Smith
For contributions to the development of large-scale integration.

Isao Someya
For contributions in the use of sampling theory in development of microwave communications systems.