Skip to main content
abstract blue background

About ComSoc

Plaque and honorarium of US$500 per author (up to a maximum total of US$1,000). If more than four authors, the maximum of US$1,000 would be split between each author.

This award honors the author(s) of an especially meritorious paper published in a ComSoc owned journal dealing with a subject related to the Society’s technical scope.

The award will be given to papers published in any journal owned exclusively by the IEEE Communications Society in the past five years. Eligibility and Selection process shall comply with procedures and regulation established in IEEE and Society governing documents, particularly with IEEE Policy 4.4 on Awards Limitations. There are no restrictions as to IEEE membership, nationality, race, creed, age or gender.

Basis for Judging 
Originality, utility, timeliness, impact, technical content, and clarity of presentation.

Nominee Solicitation 
Nominations are solicited by Editors-in-Chief with the aid of their Editorial Boards and guest Editors of all IEEE Communications Society publications. After screening, each Editor-in-Chief shall submit at least one nomination. Nominations will also be solicited from ComSoc Technical Committee chairs and the community at large.

Awards Committee 
The IEEE Communications Society Awards Committee will be responsible for the final selection. The committee consists of a chair (appointed by the president for a two-year term) and at least 12 members (appointed by the chair for a three-year term).

No more than five manuscripts will be submitted to the IEEE Communications Society Awards Committee for final selection by February 15 of each year.

Annually. If in any year no eligible paper is deemed to be of sufficient quality, no award will be given.

Administration and Funding 
The IEEE Communications Society will administer the award covered in part by an endowment established by the IEEE Foundation and the remaining out of annual Society operating expenses. The Society's budget includes the amount of this award and the Society budget is net positive with the inclusion of the award.

Annually, at the IEEE International Conference on Communications (IEEE ICC).

The award and recipients’ names will be posted on the IEEE Communications Society website.

Nominations due 15 February unless otherwise noted.


2023 Award Recipients

Nguyen Cong Luong, Dinh Thai Hoang, Shimin Gong, Dusit Niyato, Ping Wang, Ying-Chang Liang, and Dong In Kim

Applications of Deep Reinforcement Learning in Communications and Networking: A Survey,” IEEE Communications Surveys & Tutorials, vol. 21, no. 4, pp. 3133-3174, May 2019.



Faheem Zafari, Athanasios Gkelias, and Kin K. Leung
A Survey of Indoor Localization Systems and Technologies,” IEEE Communications Surveys & Tutorials, vol. 21, no. 3, pp. 2568-2599, Third Quarter 2019.

Yuyi Mao, Changsheng You, Jun Zhang, Kaibin Huang, and Khaled B. Letaief
"A Survey on Mobile Edge Computing: The Communication Perspective," IEEE Communications Surveys and Tutorials, Vol. 19, No. 4, pp. 2322-2358, Fourth Quarter 2017.

Shaoshi Yang, Lajos Hanzo
Fifty Years of MIMO Detection: The Road to Large-Scale MIMOs”,
IEEE Communications Surveys & Tutorials, Vol. 17, No. 4, pp. 1941 - 1988, Fourth Quarter 2015.

Mohammad Ali Khalighi, Murat Uysal
"Survey on Free Space Optical Communication: A Communication Theory Perspective"IEEE Communications Surveys & Tutorials, Vol. 16, Issue: 4, pp. 2231-2258, Fourth Quarter 2014.

Ala Al-Fuqaha, Mohsen Guizani, Mehdi Mohammadi, Mohammed Aledhari, Moussa Ayyash
“Internet of Things: A Survey on Enabling Technologies, Protocols, and Applications”IEEE Communications Surveys & Tutorials, Vol.17, No.4, pp. 2347-2376, Fourth Quarter 2015.

Hesham ElSawy, Ekram Hossain, Martin Haenggi
“Stochastic Geometry for Modeling, Analysis, and Design of Multi-Tier and Cognitive Cellular Wireless Networks: A Survey”IEEE Communications Surveys & Tutorials, Vol.15, No.3, pp. 996-1019, Third Quarter 2013.