Skip to main content
background image


IEEE Fellows Elevated as of 1 January 1984

Election to the grade of IEEE Fellow is one of the highest honors that can be bestowed upon our members by the Institute in recognition of their technical, educational, and leadership achievements. Only a select few IEEE members earn this prestigious honor.

Congratulations to the following Communications Society members for their election to the grade of Fellow of the IEEE. They now join company with a truly distinguished roster of colleagues.

Joseph M. Aein
For contribution in the theory of multiple access, interference analyses, and capacity allocation as applied to communications satellites.

Dimitri P. Bertsekas
For contributions to optimization, data communications networks, and distributed control.

Theodore Compton, Jr.
For contribution to adaptive array theory and use of adaptive arrays in communications systems.

Arthur D. Friedman
For contributions to faulttolerant computing and switching theory, and to computer engineering education.

Maurice G. Bellanger
For contributions to the theory of digital filtering and the applications to communications systems.

Stanley A. Butman
For leadership and contributions in the field of communications theory and its application to space exploration.

Anthony Ephremides
For contribution to statistical communications theory, modeling and analysis of communications networks, and engineering education.

Barrie Gilbert
For discovery of the translinear principle and invention of the translinear multiplier.

Masao Kawashima
For contributions to the development of digital transmission systems.

Eric G. Manning
For contributions to fault diagnosis and simulation in digital systems.

John G. Proakis
For contributions to decision-directed measurement techniques and adaptive equalization techniques to digital communications over various channels.

Stephen B. Weinstein
For contributions to the theory and practice of voiceband data communications, and to IEEE publications activities.

Pierre M. Lucas
For contributions to electronic switching systems.

Robert J. McEliece
For contribution to information and coding theory research and applications.

Kouzo Suzuki
For development of advanced mobile telephone systems and advancement of consumer communications service.

Yu-Shuan Yeh
For contribution to advanced communications satellites and highcapacity mobile radio systems.