Skip to main content
background image


IEEE Fellows Elevated as of 1 January 2002

Election to the grade of IEEE Fellow is one of the highest honors that can be bestowed upon our members by the Institute in recognition of their technical, educational, and leadership achievements. Only a select few IEEE members earn this prestigious honor.

Congratulations to the following Communications Society members for their election to the grade of Fellow of the IEEE. They now join company with a truly distinguished roster of colleagues.

Fumiyuki Adachi
For contributions and leadership in digital cellular communication technologies.

Oscar Ernesto Agazzi
For contributions to system design for gigabit ethernet, magnetic recording, and ISDN technologies.

Shigeyuki Akiba 
For contributions to infrared semiconductor lasers and to the development of high capacity transoceanic undersea cable systems.

Mostafa Hamed Ammar 
For contributions to the design of scalable multimedia services and their network support.

Naoki Chinone 
For contributions to the development and understanding of semiconductor lasers.

Oliver Collins 
For contributions to the theory and practice of error-correcting codes.

Robert Louis Cupo 
For design and development of digital communication receivers.

Peter J. Delfyett 
For the development and application of high-speed photonic device technology based on mode-locked semiconductor diode lasers.

Stephen D. Dukes 
For leadership in evolving cable television industry architecture, technology, and standards for rapidly developing digital two-way communications systems.

Osami Ishida 
For leadership in research and development of microwave devices for mobile communications.

Junzo Kawakami 
For contributions to the research and development of artificial intelligence applications in power engineering.

Sayfe Kiaei 
For contributions in low-power, low-noise CMOS logic.

P. Vijay Kumar 
For contributions to the theory of error-correcting codes and low correlation sequence design.

Thomas F. LaPorta 
For contributions to systems for advanced broadband, mobile data, and mobile telecommunication networks.

Keiji Tachikawa 
For contributions to and leadership in the development, introduction, and standardization of mobile communications systems.

Barry D. Van Veen 
For contributions to the development of subspace signal processing algorithms.

Yuji Inoue 
For contributions to the development of technologies for Integrated Services Digital Network (ISDN) networking architecture and multimedia communications.

Valeri Ya Kontorovitch
For contributions to the theory of EMC radio communication systems.

Tomonori Aoyama
For contributions to digital signal processing for communications and broadband communication networks.

Hrvoje I. Babic
For contributions to engineering education and research in analog and digital signal processing.

Mihai Banu 
For contributions to the art of fully integrated continuous-time analog-filter design.

Richard G. Baraniuk 
For contributions to the development of techniques for time-frequency and multiscale analysis.

Evangelos S. Eleftheriou 
For contributions to equalization and coding, and for noise-predictive maximum likelihood detection in magnetic recording.

Eweda I. Eweda 
For contributions to the theory of adaptive filtering.

Patrick Guy Farrell 
For contributions to error-correcting codes.

Robert M. Goldberg 
For contributions to military test and measurement equipment.

Wayne Davy Grover 
For contributions to survivable and self-organizing broadband transport networks.

Leo P. Ligthart 
For contributions to antenna research and radar technology.

Michael W. Marcellin 
For contributions to data compression and constrained coding systems.

David L. Mills 
For contributions to network protocols and network timekeeping in the development of the Internet.

Marc Moeneclaey 
For contributions to the theory of synchronization in digital communications.

Kazuo Murano 
For contributions to the research and development of communications signal processing and DSP LSIs, and the standardization of ISDN usernetwork interface.

Robert Weigel 
For contributions to microwave acoustics, radio frequency integrated circuits, and microwave circuits and their applications.

Joseph E. Wilkes 
For contributions to the development and standardization of control algorithms for cellular wireless communications systems.

Douglas L. Jones 
For contributions to adaptive and statistical time-frequency analysis.

Anthony Christos Boucouvalas
For contributions to the understanding and development of optical fiber components and optical wireless communications.

Gerard Thomas Capraro
For leadership in computing technologies for assessing the electromagnetic compatibility of systems.

James Kennedy Cavers
For contributions to the theory and practice of digital transmission over wireless channels.

Bor-Sen Chen
For contributions to fuzzy control theory and its applications.

Hsueh-Ming Hang
For contributions to video compression algorithms and systems.

John Erik Hershey
For contributions to secure communications.

Mitsutaka Hikita
For contributions to the development of surface- acoustic-wave devices for mobile communications.

Shuji Hirakawa
For contributions to the innovation of coded-modulation and set-partitioning, and applications of error-correcting codes to a real digital broadcasting system.

James Morris Howell
For contributions to the design and analysis of radar systems.

Stephen James Nightingale
For contributions to planar microwave and millimeter wave circuits.

Taiji Nishizawa
For contributions to broadcast engineering.

Debajyoti Pal
For contributions to the theory and practice of the use of excess bandwidth and diversity in adaptive equalization for data transmission.

James Arnold Roberts, Jr.
For leadership in electrical and computer engineering and computer science education and in research competitiveness.

Elias Snitzer
For studies of rare-earth ions in optical fiber, leading to the development of optical fiber amplifiers and lasers.

Wing Shing Wong
For contributions to estimation theory of nonlinear systems and application of system theory to communication and information processing problems.

Kon Max Wong
For contributions to sensor array and multichannel signal processing.

Ronald Michael Sega
For contributions to matrial research in space and regional engineering education.