Skip to main content
abstract blue background

About ComSoc

Plaque and honorarium up to US$500 for each author (total award not to exceed US$1000).

Publication of an original paper published in the IEEE/ACM Transactions on Networking or the IEEE Transactions on Network and Service Management in the previous three calendar years. The author(s) need not be an IEEE member.

Basis for Judging
Quality, originality, utility, timeliness, clarity of presentation.

Nominee Solicitation
Nominations solicited by Transactions Editor-in-Chief from the Editorial Board, Guest Editors, and readership (through published notices).

Selection Process
Nominations screened and reduced to a shortlist by a committee of the Editorial Board and submitted to the IEEE Communications Society Awards Committee for final selection.

Annually (as soon as possible after recommendation). If in any year no eligible paper is deemed to be of sufficient quality, no award will be given.

Nominations due 15 February unless otherwise noted.


2018 Award Recipients

No Award



Qiuyu Peng, Anwar Walid, Jaehyun Hwang, and Steven Low
“Multipath TCP Algorithms: Theory, Design and Implementation”IEEE/ACM Transactions on Networking, Vol. 24, No. 1, pp. 596 – 609, February 2016.

Kyunghan Lee, Joohyun Lee, Yung Yi, Injong Rhee, and Song Chong
“Mobile Data Offloading: How Much Can WiFi Deliver?”IEEE/ACM Transactions On Networking, Volume 21, No. 2, pp. 536-551, April 2013.

Fenye Bao, Ing-Ray Chen, MoonJeong Chang, and Jin-Hee Cho
“Hierarchical Trust Management for Wireless Sensor Networks and its Applications to Trust-Based Routing and Intrusion Detection”IEEE Transactions on Network and Service Management, Vol. 9, No. 2, June 2012, pp. 169-183.

Minghong Lin, Adam Wierman, Lachlan L. H. Andrew, and Eno Thereska
“Dynamic Right-Sizing for Power-Proportional Data Centers,” IEEE/ACM Transactions on Networking, Vol. 21, No. 5, October 2013, pp. 1378-1391.

Injong Rhee, Minsu Shin, Seongik Hong, Kyunghan Lee, Seong Joon Kim, and Song Chong
"On the Levy-Walk Nature of Human Mobility," IEEE/ACM Transactions on Networking, Vol. 19, No. 3, June 2011, pp. 630-643.

Alberto Rabbachin, Tony Q.S. Quek, Hyundong Shin, and Moe Z. Win
"Cognitive Network Interference," IEEE Journal on Selected Areas in Communications, Vol. 29, No. 2, February 2011, pp. 480-493.

Murali Kodialam, T. V. Lakshman, James B. Orlin, and Sudipta Sengupta
"Oblivious Routing of Highly Variable Traffic in Service Overlays and IP Backbones,"IEEE/ACM Transactions on Networking, Vol. 17, No. 2, pp. 459-472, April 2009

2010 - No Award

Sachin Katti, Hariharan Rahul, Wenjun Hu, Dina Katabi, Muriel Medard, and Jon Crowcroft
"XORs in the Air: Practical Wireless Network Coding", IEEE/ACM Transactions on Networking, Vol. 16, No. 3, pp. 497–510, June 2008

Božidar Radunović and Jean-Yves Le Boudec
"A Unified Framework for Max-Min and Min-Max Fairness With Applications", IEEE/ACM Transactions on Networking, Vol. 15, No. 5, pp. 1073 – 1083, October 2007

David Applegate and Edith Cohen
"Making Routing Robust to Changing Traffic Demands: Algorithms and Evaluation", IEEE/ACM Transactions on Networking, Vol. 14, No. 6, pp. 1193-1206, December 2006

João Luís Sobrinho
"An Algebraic Theory of Dynamic Network Routing", IEEE/ACM Transactions on Networking, Vol. 13, No. 5, pp. 1160 – 1173, October 2005

Neil Spring, Ratul Mahajan, David Wetherall, and Thomas Anderson
"Measuring ISP Topologies With Rocketfuel", IEEE/ACM Transactions on Networking, Vol. 12, No. 1, pp. 2-16, February 2004

Ion Stoica, Robert Morris, David Liben-Nowell, David R. Karger, M. Frans Kaashoek, Frank Dabek, and Hari Balakrishnan
"Chord: A Scalable Peer-to-Peer Lookup Protocol for Internet Applications", IEEE/ACM Transactions on Networking, Vol. 11, No. 1, pp. 17-32, February 2003

Wu-chang Feng, Kang G. Shin, Dilip D. Kandlur, and Debanjan Saha
"The BLUE Active Queue Management Algorithms", IEEE/ACM Transactions on Networking, Vol. 10, No. 4, pp. 513-528, August 2002

Sally Floyd and Vern Paxson
"Difficulties in Simulating the Internet", IEEE/ACM Transactions on Networking, Vol. 9, No. 4, pp. 392-403, August 2001

Chung Kei Wong, Mohamed G. Gouda, and Simon S. Lam
“Secure Group Communications Using Key Graphs”, IEEE/ACM Transactions on Networking, Vol. 8, No. 1, pp. 16 – 30, February 2000

Sally Floyd and Kevin Fall
"Promoting the Use of End-to-End Congestion Control in the Internet", IEEE/ACM Transactions on Networking, Vol. 7. No. 4, August 1999, pp. 458-472

Jorg Nonnenmacher, Ernst W. Biersack, and Don Towsley
"Parity-Based Loss Recovery for Reliable Multicast Transmission", IEEE/ACM Transactions on Networking, Vol 6, No 4, Aug 1998, pp. 349-361

Vern Paxson
"End-to-end Routing Behavior in the Internet", IEEE/ACM Transactions on Networking, October 1997

S. H. Low, N.F. Maxemchuk, and S. Paul
"Anonymous Credit Cards and Their Collusion Analysis", IEEE/ACM Transactions on Networking, December 1996, Volume 4, Number 6, pp. 809-816

R. Ramaswami and K. Silvarajan
"Routing and wavelength assignment in all-optical networks", IEEE/ACM Transactions on Networking, Oct, 1995

Will E. Leland, Murad S. Taqqu, Walter Willinger, and Dan V. Wilson
"On the Self-Similar Nature of Ethernet Traffic", IEEE/ACM Transactions on Networking, Vol. 2, No. 1, February 1994

Abhay K. Parekh and Robert G. Gallager
"A Generalized Processor Sharing Approach to Flow Control in Integrated Services Networks: The Single Node Case", IEEE/ACM Transactions on Networking, Vol 1, No. 3, June 1993