Skip to main content
background image


IEEE Fellows Elevated as of 1 January 2001

Election to the grade of IEEE Fellow is one of the highest honors that can be bestowed upon our members by the Institute in recognition of their technical, educational, and leadership achievements. Only a select few IEEE members earn this prestigious honor.

Congratulations to the following Communications Society members for their election to the grade of Fellow of the IEEE. They now join company with a truly distinguished roster of colleagues.

Yoshihiko Akaiwa
For contributions to digital modulation techniques and distributed dynamic channel assignment for mobile radio communications.

Sirikiat Lek Ariyavisitakul
For contributions to the theory and practical implementations of anti-multipath and interference suppression techniques in wireless communications.

Sethumadhavan Chandrasekhar
For contributions to the design and development of 1.55 um opto-electronic integrated circuits for wide-spectrum application in optical communications.

Carl Kochao Chang
For seamless integration of Petri-net oriented techniques to support project management.

Li Fung Chang
For contributions to the design and analysis of radio links and networks for wireless voice/data services.

H. Jonathan Chao
For contributions to the architecture and application of VLSI circuits in high speed packet networks.

Liang-Gee Chen
For contributions to algorithm and architecture design for video coding systems.

Francois Bernard Dolivo
For the application of signal-processing techniques to magnetic recording.

Fritz R. Gfeller
For contributions to infrared data communication.

Jay Scott Goldstein
For contributions to adaptive Wiener filter theory and its application to radar and communications.

Roch A. Guerin
For contributions to the theory and practice of quality-of-service guarantees in packet networks, and the development and application of the equivalent bandwidth concept.

Peter S. Hall
For contributions to the development and application of microstrip antennas and active integrated antenna arrays.

Paul James Hurst
For contributions to the design of CMOS integrated circuits for telecommunications and magnetic recording.

Takashi Iida
For contributions and leadership in satellite communications systems.

Dieter Stefan Jager
For contributions to the development of device concepts in microwaves and photonics.

David Andrew Johns
For contributions to the theory and design of analog adaptive integrated circuits used in digital communications.

Ton A. Kalker
For contributions to watermarking technology and its practical applications.

Moshe M. Kam
For contributions to the theory of decision fusion and distributed detection.

Sy-Yen Kuo
For contributions to dependable computing and software reliability engineering.

Kin K. Leung
For contributions to performance analysis, protocol design, and control algorithms for communications networks.

Norihiko Morinaga
For contributions to and leadership in the development of intelligent radio communication systems and broadband radio on fiber systems.

Prakash Narayan
For contributions to Shannon Theory and its application to the evaluation of the reliability of communication channels.

Nasser M. Nasrabadi
For contributions to Vector Quantization and its applications to image compression and processing.

Sethuraman Panchanathan
For contributions to compressed domain processing and indexing in visual computing and communications.

Ali H. Sayed
For contributions to adaptive filtering and estimation algorithms.

Jonathan Michael Smith
For contributions to the technology of high-speed networking.

Tatsuya Suda
For contributions to the advancement of high speed networks.

Huifang Sun
For contributions to digital video technologies including coding optimization, down-conversion, and error resilience.

Shigehiko Suzuki
For leadership in the development and standardization of technologies for intelligence in telecommunications networks.

Arne Svensson
For contributions to detection of digital modulation methods.

David B. Tuckerman
For contributions to high-performance electronic packaging and interconnection technologies, including the development of the microchannel heat sink.

Mladen Alan Vouk
For contributions to engineering of reliable software-based systems.

Winston I. Way
For contributions in applying subcarrier multiplexing techniques to lightwave technologies for hybrid fiber-coax access systems.

Yiyan Wu
For contributions to digital television research and standards development.

George I. Zysman
For leadership in the development of mobile communications technology, systems and standards.