Skip to main content
background image


IEEE Fellows Elevated as of 1 January 1995

Election to the grade of IEEE Fellow is one of the highest honors that can be bestowed upon our members by the Institute in recognition of their technical, educational, and leadership achievements. Only a select few IEEE members earn this prestigious honor.

Congratulations to the following Communications Society members for their election to the grade of Fellow of the IEEE. They now join company with a truly distinguished roster of colleagues.

Souguil Jean-Michel Ann
For contribution to the development of high resolution transducers for image processing, and to electronics education in Korea.

Toshiharu Aoki
For contribution to the development of integrated digital network systems and to networking architectures for multimedia communications.

Shigeru Asakawa
For contributions to the development of ultra-low-power digital radio-paging systems.

Paul W. Baier
For contribution to spread spectrum techniques and their applications to communications, cellular radio, radar, and geodesic ranging.

Bella Bose
For contribution to the theory and design of unidirectional codes.

Juin-Hwey Chen
For contributions to low-delay and backward adaptive linear prediction speech coding, and the development of related standards.

Wen-Hsiung Chen
For contributions to digital video coding techniques and their commercial applications.

Nim K. Cheung
For contributions to the understanding and development of high-speed lightwave technology and to the architecture and applications of gigabit networks.

Pierre R. Chevillat
For contributions to the theory and application of digital communications techniques.

David C. Coll
For pioneering work in adaptive equalization, and for leadership in communications research and education.

Jose Roberto B. de Marca
For leadership and contributions to international communications.

Spiros Dimolitsas
For leadership in the standardization of signal processing technology for international and mobile communications.

Amitava Dutta-Roy
For contributions to the development of techniques and programs for the effective dissemination of information on computer networks and communication technologies in Brazil.

Mehmet V. Eyuboglu
For contributions to the theory and practice of high-speed telephone-line modem technology and standards development.

Jacques J Gavan
For contributions to the solution of cosite electromagnetic interference problems in communication systems and to electromagnetic compatibility education.

Shri K. Goyal
For the integration of artificial intelligence technology in telecommunications and for researching techniques for the development and deployment of intelligent systems in telecommunications networks.

Chris Heegard
For development and analysis of families of efficient channel codes.

Jack M. Holtzman
For fundamental theoretical innovations leading to practical methods of design and evaluation of wireless communications systems and switching systems.

To R. Hsing
For leadership in the development of technology to transport video rate data on existing telephone access lines.

Louis J Ippolito, Jr.
For contribution to the study and application of radiowave propagation effects in space communications system design.

Masao Kasahara
For contribution to coding theory and to efficient decoding.

Gerd E. Keiser
For contributions to the development and evaluation of asynchronous transfer mode (ATM) switches and fiber optic networks.

Joanne S. LaCourse
For contributions to the understanding of the dynamic characteristics of semiconductors of semiconductors lasers.

Neal Laurance
For contributions to the development and application of microprocessors for the control of automotive engines.

William W. Middleton
For leadership, planning, and management of large communications networks.

Robert Olshansky
For contributions to lightwave technology and design of broadband fiber-coax distribution networks.

Fumitaka Ono
For contributions to the research and development of Markov source coding, and arithmetic codes, and their applications.

Kinji Ono
For contributions to and leadership in, the research and development of international communications, especially in the field of data communications technology.

Thomas J. Plevyak
For leadership and individual contributions to the development and dissemination of Network Management technology and systems.

Andreas Polydoros
For contributions to spread spectrum communications systems and networks.

Dipankar Raychaudhuri
For contributions in the area of multiple-access packet networks and digital video technology.

Hikmet Sari
For contributions to advanced signals processing in digital microwave radio systems.

Jeffery H. Shapiro
For the development of the theory of squeezed state electromagnetic waves.

Donald F. Towsley
For contributions to modeling and analysis of computer networks.

Britton T. Vincent, Jr.
For contributions to the development of solid-state phased-array radar systems and hybrid microwave integrated circuits.

Victor K.W. Wei
For contributions to coding theory and its applications.

Matsuichi Yamada
For contributions to radiowave propagation for satellite communications.

James R. Zeidler
For contributions to adaptive signal processing and its applications.