You are here

The IEEE Communications Society Heinrich Hertz Award for Best Communications & Wireless Communications Letter Award

Plaque and honorarium of $500 per author (up to a maximum total of $2000).

Letters published in any letter journal financially sponsored or co-sponsored by the Communications Society which open new lines of research, envision bold approaches to communication, formulate new problems to solve, and essentially enlarge the field of communications engineering are eligible for this annual award.

This award is given to an outstanding manuscript published in any letter journal financially sponsored or co-sponsored by the Communications Society during the previous 3 calendar years which opens new lines of research, envisions bold approaches to communication, formulates new problems to solve, and essentially enlarges the field of communications engineering.  Recipients need not be IEEE members.

Basis for Judging
Quality,exposition, novelty and impact.

Nominee Solicitation
Nominations will be solicited by the Editor-in-Chief of the letter journal from the Editorial Board.  Each associate editor may submit no more than one paper to the Editor-in-Chief for consideration. A sub-committee comprised of the Editor-in-Chief and five Associate Editors will screen the nominated papers.  Nominations will also be solicited from ComSoc Technical Committee chairs and readership (through published notices).

No more than five manuscripts will be submitted to the Awards Committee for final selection by March 1 of each year.  Selection will be based on rankings given to each nominated paper by each member of the sub-committee.  Each paper submitted to the Awards Committee will be accompanied by a summary statement.

The IEEE Communications Society will administer the award covered out of the Society’s annual operating budget until a suitable endowment is established.  Each recipient receives an honorarium of $500 up to maximum of $2000 (plus the minimal cost of plaques) and will be budgeted annually to cover the total cost of up to $2000 per year.

Annually, at ICC or GLOBECOM. If, in any year, no eligible letter is deemed to be of sufficient quality, no award will be givenAnnually (as soon as possible after recommendation).  Award will not be given if a paper of high quality in not uncovered.

(Deadline: 15 February)



Zhiguo Ding 
Mugen Peng 
H. Vincent Poor

“Cooperative Non-Orthogonal Multiple Access in 5G Systems”, IEEE Communications Letters, Vol. 19, No.8, pp. 1462-1465, August 2015.


Yong Zeng
Rui Zhang

“Full-Duplex Wireless-Powered Relay With Self-Energy Recycling”, IEEE Wireless Communications Letters, Vol. 4, No.2, pp. 201-204, April 2015.


Harpreet S. Dhillon
Jeffrey G. Andrews

“Downlink Rate Distribution in Heterogeneous Cellular Networks under Generalized Cell Selection”, IEEE Wireless Communications Letters, Volume 3, No. 1, pp. 42-45, February 2014.


Tiangao Gou
Syed A. Jafar

Optimal Use of Current and Outdated Channel State Information -- Degrees of Freedom of the MISO BC with Mixed CSIT”, IEEE Communications Letters, Vol. 16, No. 7, July 2012, pp. 1084-1087.


Liping Luo
Ping Zhang
Guangchi Zhang
Jiayin Qin

“Outage Performance for Cognitive Relay Networks with Underlay Spectrum Sharing,” IEEE Communications Letters, Vol. 15, No. 7, July 2011, pp. 710-712.


Jingge Zhu
Jianhua Mo
Meixia Tao

"Cooperative Secret Communication with Artificial Noise in Symmetric Interference Channel," IEEE Communications Letters, Vol. 14, No. 10, October 2010, pp.885-887.


Shafayat Abrar
Asoke K. Nandi

"Adaptive Minimum Entropy Equalization Algorithm," IEEE Communications Letters, Vol. 14, No.10, October 2010, pp. 966-968.


Illsoo Sohn
Jeffrey G. Andrews

"Approaching Large-System Limits Faster in Multiuser MIMO with Adaptive Channel Feedback Adjustments," IEEE Communications Letters, Vol. 14, No. 12, pp. 1125-1127, December 2010


Jaap van de Beek
Fredrik Berggren

"N-continuous OFDM", IEEE Communications Letters, Vol. 13, No. 1, pp. 1-3, January 2009