Skip to main content
Ricardo Veiga
Director, Member Services

Ricardo Veiga is an Associate Professor at Universidad de Buenos Aires (UBA), Faculty of Engineering. He was responsible for Postgraduate Studies and he is currently responsible for Planning and Management Control at the Faculty of Engineering, UBA. He was also Member of the Board of Directors of the Faculty of Engineering, UBA. He graduated from UBA as an Electronics Engineer (six-year degree program), and did postgraduate studies in Japan, and at UADE University.

He has also been working in industry for 25 years, participating in the start-up of several companies. He has experience in leadership positions in mobile communications companies and service providers. He was member of the ComSoc’s Board of Governors as Member-at-Large (2017–2019). He was also member of the ComSoc’s Finance Standing Committee, the Technical Committees Recertification Standing Committee and the Strategic Committee. He was member of the ComSoc’s Board of Governors as Regional Director (2004–2005), increasing the number of Chapters by 17 percent and Student Branch Chapters by 38 percent. He has led the Training Committee within ComSoc’s WCETTM. He was member of the IEEE MGA Member Benefits Portfolio Advisory Committee, the MGA Individual Benefits & Services Committee (IB&SC), and the GOLD Committee. He was the Region 9 IEEE GOLD Coordinator. He served as Chair, Secretary, Treasurer and Membership Development Coordinator of the local Section. He founded three local Chapters and one Joint Chapter. As Chair of the local ComSoc Chapter, he received the Chapter Achievement Award. He also received the ComSoc Latin America Region Distinguished Service Award, the IEEE RAB Achievement Award, IEEE Third Millennium Medal, IEEE Richard E. Merwin Scholarship, and Larry K. Wilson Regional Student Award, among others.